Who We Are

The Research Committee

Professor Pauline Ladiges MSc PhD Dip Ed FAA AO (Chair)

Professor Ladiges is the past Head of the School of Botany, currently a Professorial Fellow, at the University of Melbourne. She has a wide interest in the diversity and evolution of the Australian flora and is best known for her research work on the phylogeny and biogeography of the eucalypts. She has published more than 130 scientific papers, is an elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, and recipient of the Royal Society of Victoria’s Research Medal for 2005. She has co-authored and co-edited three award-winning biology textbooks for Australian secondary and tertiary education.

Associate Professor Andrew Vizard BVSc (Hons) MVPM (Executive Secretary Research Committee)

Andrew Vizard is a Principal Fellow at the University of Melbourne and the former Director of the University’s Mackinnon Project, which specialises in agricultural research, education and extension. He is also an experienced company director, having served on the board of numerous listed companies, statutory bodies, and scientific organisations. Andrew is currently Chair of the ASX-listed Apiam Limited, a trustee of the Australian Wool Education Trust and Chair of The Vizard Foundation.

Professor Chris Dickman, BSc, PhD, FRZS

Chris Dickman is Professor in Ecology at the University of Sydney, and Director of the University’s Institute of Wildlife Research. He has long been fascinated with the processes that influence the distributions, abundances and diversity of terrestrial vertebrates, and has written more than 230 scientific papers and book chapters on this topic. Chris is an advocate for best practice in conservation and management, and was Chair of the NSW Scientific Committee for seven years. He is also committed to postgraduate education, and has supervised more than 100 Honours, Masters and PhD students over the last 20 years.

Professor Stephen Sarre BAppSc, MAppSci, PhD

Stephen Sarre is Professor in Wildlife Genetics at the University of Canberra and former Director of the Institute for Applied Ecology. His research is centered on genetic and ecological aspects of wildlife with a focus on sex determination and population genetics. Stephen is committed to the application of science to wildlife management and is involved in several projects of national significance including the program to eradicate foxes in Tasmania. He is a member of the International Scientific Advisory Panel for the Allan Wilson Centre for Molecular Ecology and Evolution and led the Education Program for the Invasive Animals Cooperative Research Centre from 2005 – 2012, implementing an innovative training program aimed at preparing postgraduates for life in industry as well as research.

Dr Rick Fletcher, BSc (Hons) PhD

Rick has been the Executive Director of Fisheries and Agriculture Resource Management for the Western Australian Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development since 2017 and is responsible for the assessment and management of WA’s extensive aquatic and terrestrial resources. He has led a number of national initiatives including the development and implementation of risk-based, ‘ecosystem approaches’ for fisheries and aquaculture sectors in Australia which are now being converted for use in managing the vast rangelands areas of WA. He also regularly works with international agencies including the United Nations Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO) to develop practical systems for fisheries management within developing countries and for areas beyond national jurisdiction.

Professor Craig Moritz

Professor Moritz is Director of the Research School of Biology at Australia National University and also Director of the joint ANU-CSIRO Centre for Biodiversity Analysis. He was previously Director of the Museum of Vertebrate Zoology at UC Berkeley. A Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and an ARC Fellow Laureate, Professor Moritz is internationally recognised for his outstanding research contributions to evolutionary biology, particularly concerning speciation and biogeography. Although his research is primarily based in natural populations, he has repeatedly developed new statistical and molecular methods, and developed approaches to improve our ability to conserve communities, populations, and species.

Professor Roslyn Gleadow

Professor Gleadow is a plant biologist at Monash University where she leads the Plant Ecophysiology group. She is interested in how plants detect and respond to the environment, including the animals that depend on them. Her research is on the impacts of climate change on plant composition and food security, with a focus on plants that make cyanide. She has published more than 100 scientific papers and is an internationally acclaimed science communicator and educator. She is President of the Global Plant Council and a Past-President of the Australian Society of Plant Scientists.

The Board of Trustees

Mr Paul H Slade
Mr Anthony P Slade
Dr Robert J Slade
Mr Phillip Filler
Ms Shelley Taylor-Paix

Investment Committee
Mr Tony Aveling, Chairman

Accountant and Auditor
Hunt & Company, Sydney

About the Foundation

Current & Completed

How to